Greindl & Köck

Blog

Home Office Meassures 2021

On January 27, 2021, the Ministerial Council and the social partners agreed on the home office measures and especially the following points:

  • Home office remains voluntary, but any agreement on this must be made in written form. The agreement may be terminated by either party for good cause by giving one month’s notice. In companies where a works council has been installed, home office can be regulated within the framework of an optional works council agreement pursuant to Section 97 of the Labour Constitution Act (ArbVG).

 

  • All provisions of the Austrian Working Time Act (Arbeitszeitgesetz), the Austrian Rest Act (Arbeitsruhegesetz) and the Austrian Employee Liability Act (Dienstnehmerhaftpflichtgesetz) also apply to home office work. In addition, the Austrian Employee Liability Act clarifies that damage caused by household members (or pets) to work equipment provided is considered to be made by the employee (responsibility).

 

  • The current Corona regulation on accident insurance for home office remains and becomes permanent law. Employees are continuously insured for accidents in the home office.

 

  • In general, employers must provide the digital work equipment (incl. connection to internet and data) required for work in the home office. However, the use of employees’ own work equipment can be agreed. In this case, appropriate (flat-rate) compensation must be paid.

 

  • A total of EUR 600 per year can be tax-reductible for home-based work. Employer payments e.g. for laptops or mobile devices are tax-free up to EUR 300 per year. Employees will also be able to deduct other expenses of up to EUR 300 as income-related expenses. The regulations will be limited until the end of 2023.

Greindl & Köck

Blog

Homeoffice – Maßnahmenpaket 2021

Am 27. Jänner 2021 haben sich Ministerrat und die Sozialpartner auf das Homeoffice-Maßnahmenpaket geeinigt und dabei folgende Punkte festgehalten:

  • Homeoffice bleibt weiterhin freiwillig, allerdings soll die Vereinbarung darüber schriftlich erfolgen. Die Vereinbarung kann beiderseits aus wichtigem Grund unter Einhaltung einer Frist von einem Monat widerrufen werden. In Betrieben, in denen ein Betriebsrat installiert ist, kann Homeoffice im Rahmen einer fakultativen Betriebsvereinbarung gemäß § 97 ArbVG geregelt werden.

 

  • Sämtliche Bestimmungen des Arbeitszeit- und Arbeitsruhegesetzes sowie des Dienstnehmerhaftpflichtgesetzes sind auch im Homeoffice anzuwenden. Außerdem wird im Dienstnehmerhaftpflichtgesetz klargestellt, dass Schäden, die Haushaltsangehörige (oder Haustiere) an bereitgestellten Arbeitsmitteln verursachen, den Arbeitnehmern zuzurechnen.

 

  • Die aktuelle Corona-Regelung zur Unfallversicherung im Homeoffice soll weiterhin bestehen bleiben und Dauerrecht werden. Beschäftigte sind damit auch im Homeoffice dauerhaft unfallversichert.

 

  • Grundsätzlich haben die Arbeitgeber die für die Arbeit im Homeoffice erforderlichen digitalen Arbeitsmittel (inkl. Datenverbindung) zur Verfügung zu stellen. Es kann aber die Verwendung von mitarbeitereigenen Arbeitsmitteln vereinbart werden. Hierfür ist eine angemessene (Pauschal)Abgeltung zu leisten.

 

  • Insgesamt können für die Arbeit von zu Hause EUR 600,- jährlich steuerlich abgesetzt werden. Zahlungen der Arbeitgeber für z.B. Laptops oder Mobilgeräte sollen bis zu EUR 300,- pro Jahr steuerfrei werden. Außerdem sollen Arbeitnehmer auch andere Aufwendungen bis zu EUR 300,- als Werbungskosten absetzen können. Die Regelungen sind vorerst bis Ende 2023 befristet.