Greindl & Köck

Blog

Virtual Company Meetings – Extension Until the End of 2021

On March 20, 2020, the Austrian National Council passed the „Gesellschaftsrechtliches COVID-19-Gesetz” (Company Law COVID-19 Act), which expressly enables all company meetings to be held without the physical presence of the participants. This also includes, for example, supervisory board meetings and the general assemblies of stock companies and limited companies.

Not more than half of the participants may only be connected only through audio channels, without using their cameras, since in general the meeting should be in audio as well as video.

So far there have been no regulations in company law in which form to attend the meetings. Especially since prior to the technological progress of the last few decades, which made video conferences easily accessible to everyone, there was no other option than a meeting in person.

The law is now being extended until December 31, 2021. Consequently, online meetings are possible for at least the next year, regardless of whether at the time of the meeting restrictions due to the COVID-19 measures are still in place.

The judicial committee, who proposed this extension, aims to thus give the legislature time to anchor these new regulations, which have proven themselves in practice, permanently in company law after further legal discussion.

Greindl & Köck

Blog

Virtuelle Gesellschafterversammlung – Verlängerung bis Ende 2021

Am 20. März 2020 wurde vom Nationalrat das „Gesellschaftsrechtliche COVID-19-Gesetz“ erlassen, das sämtliche Versammlungen von Gesellschaftern und Organmitgliedern auch ohne physische Anwesenheit der Teilnehmer ausdrücklich ermöglicht. Dies umfasst beispielsweise auch Aufsichtsratssitzungen, die Hauptversammlung von AGs und die Generalversammlung der GmbH.

Nicht mehr als die Hälfte der Teilnehmer darf dabei bloß mit Audio dazugeschaltet sein, also ohne eine Kamera zu nutzen, denn grundsätzlich soll sowohl eine Audio- als auch Videoverbindung bestehen.

Bisher fanden sich im Gesellschaftsrecht keine Regelungen in welcher Form an den Versammlungen teilzunehmen war, zumal es vor den technologischen Fortschritt der letzten Jahrzehnte, der Videokonferenzen jedem leicht zugänglich machte, gar keine andere Möglichkeit als eine Sitzung in persona gab.

Das Gesetz wird nun bis zum 31. Dezember 2021 verlängert. Somit sind zumindest für das ganze kommende Jahr Online-Versammlungen möglich, ganz unabhängig davon, ob zum jeweiligen Zeitpunkt noch Beschränkungen aufgrund der COVID-19-Maßnahmen bestehen.

Der Justizausschuss, der diese Verlängerung beantragt hat, bezweckt damit dem Gesetzgeber nun Zeit geben, diese neuen Regelungen, die sich in der Praxis bewährt haben, nach eingehender rechtlichen Beratungen, dauerhaft im Gesellschaftsrecht zu verankern.