Greindl & Köck

Hiring refugees from Ukraine – how?

The war in Ukraine is leading to a massive influx of qualified workers to Austria. Many domestic companies therefore are interested in hiring refugees from Ukraine. What has to be considered, when doing so?

 

Basic regulation on refugees and asylum seekers:

  1. Asylum seekers

Asylum seekers are persons whose asylum procedure has not yet been completed. In general, they cannot be employed. The only possibilities are employment as a seasonal worker, if a work permit is granted, or a volunteer position.

  1. Recognized refugees

Recognized refugees are persons whose asylum procedure has been completed with a positive administrative decision. They have free access to the Austrian labor market thus the same regulations as for Austrian citizens are applicable.  Initiatives for the placement of recognized refugees can be found, among others, at the AMS (Austrian Public Employment Service).

The same status is granted to “beneficiaries of subsidiary protection.” They have not been granted the right to asylum, but have nevertheless been granted a right of residence due to other reasons of protection (e.g. imminent torture or threat to life in the country of origin).

 

Special regulation for refugees from Ukraine:

The Austrian legislature reacted quickly to the conflict in Ukraine and the resulting emergency situation. Therefore, it enacted the Regulation on Displaced Persons (Vertriebenen-Verordnung) on the 11th of March, 2022.

The Regulation on Displaced Persons stipulates that citizens of Ukraine are granted a temporary right of residence in Austria and can therefore also be employed and hired in Austria. This right of residence lasts at the least until the 3rd of March, 2023 and is automatically extended by 6 months unless otherwise decreed. It applies to the following people:

  • Citizens of Ukraine and their family members (spouse, minor children, close relatives in the same household).
  • Other persons who had been granted international protection status in Ukraine
  • Citizens of Ukraine who were already residing in Austria before the beginning of the war

 

Since the 25th of March 2022 these persons can obtain the “ID card for displaced persons”. It is a valid identity and travel document throughout the whole Schengen area. It is sent to the persons concerned after registration at a police station or registration center. The ID card for displaced persons grants all refugees from Ukraine swift access to the Austrian labor market.

If a company wants to hire refugees from Ukraine, it has to send the application for employment permit for displaced persons, with a copy of the ID card to the AMS. In a simplified procedure, the employment permit will then be issued as quickly as possible.

It should be noted that according to section 4 para 1 item 7 Law on the Employment of Foreign Nationals (AuslBG) personnel service providers are not allowed to employ Ukrainian refugees. In these cases, no employment permit will be issued, which thus precludes any personnel leasing.

 

 


Interested in employment law? Have a look at out article about the access of the employer to the e-mails of the employees.

Greindl & Köck

Geflüchtete aus der Ukraine einstellen – aber wie?

Der Ukraine Krieg führt zu massenhaftem Zuzug qualifizierter Arbeitskräfte nach Österreich. Viele heimische Unternehmen möchten daher Geflüchtete aus der Ukraine einstellen. Was ist dabei zu beachten?

 

Grundsätzliche Regelung zu Flüchtlingen und Asylwerbern:

  1. Asylwerber

Als Asylwerber gelten Personen, deren Asyl Verfahren noch nicht abgeschlossen ist. Sie dürfen grundsätzlich nicht beschäftigt werden. Für Asylwerber kommt bloß ein Volontariat oder eine Beschäftigung als Saisonarbeiter, bei Vorliegen einer Beschäftigungsbewilligung, in Betracht.

  1. Anerkannte Flüchtlinge

Anerkannte Flüchtlinge sind Asylberechtigte, deren Asylverfahren mit positivem Bescheid abgeschlossen wurde. Sie haben freien Zugang zum österreichischen Arbeitsmarkt, für sie gelten somit dieselben Regelungen wie für österreichische Staatsbürger.  Initiativen zur Vermittlung Anerkannter Flüchtlinge finden sich u.a. beim AMS.

Den gleichen Status haben „subsidiär Schutzberechtigte“, denen zwar keine Asylberechtigung zuerkannt wurde, die aber aus anderen Schutzgründen (z.B. drohende Folter oder Lebensbedrohung im Herkunftsland) trotzdem ein Aufenthaltsrecht erhalten haben.

 

Spezialregelung für Geflüchtete aus der Ukraine:

Der Gesetzgeber hat rasch auf den Konflikt in der Ukraine und die daraus resultierende Notsituation reagiert. Daher hat er am 11.3.2022 die Vertriebenen-Verordnung erlassen.

Die VertriebenenVO bestimmt, dass Staatsangehörige der Ukraine ein Vorübergehendes Aufenthaltsrecht in Österreich erhalten und somit auch in Österreich beschäftigt und eingestellt werden können. Dieses Aufenthaltsrecht besteht zumindest bis zum 3. März 2023 und wird, wenn nichts Anderweitiges verordnet wird, automatisch um 6 Monate verlängert. Es gilt für die folgenden Personengruppen:

  • Staatsangehörige aus der Ukraine und deren Familienangehörige (Ehepartner, minderjährige Kinder, enge Verwandte im gleichen Haushalt)
  • Andere Personen, die in der Ukraine internationalen Schutzstatus erhalten hatten
  • Staatsangehörige der Ukraine, die bereits vor Beginn des Kriegs in Österreich aufhältig waren

Zum Nachweis gibt es für all diese Personen seit 25.3.2022 den „Ausweis für Vertriebene“. Dieser gilt als Identitäts- und Reisedokument und ist im ganzen Schengenraum gültig. Er wird den Betroffenen nach Registrierung bei einer Polizeistation oder einem Anmeldezentrum zugeschickt. Der Ausweis für Vertriebene ermöglicht allen Flüchtlingen aus der Ukraine einen raschen Zugang zum österreichischen Arbeitsmarkt.

Will ein Unternehmen geflüchtete Personen aus der Ukraine einstellen, so hat es den Antrag auf Beschäftigungsbewilligung für Vertriebene, mit einer Kopie des Ausweises für Vertriebene an das AMS zu schicken. Im vereinfachten Verfahren wird dann möglichst rasch eine Beschäftigungsbewilligung erteilt.

Zu beachten ist, dass gem. § 4 Abs 1 Z 7 Ausländerbeschäftigungsgesetz Personaldienstleister auch ukrainische Flüchtlinge nicht beschäftigen dürfen. In diesen Fällen wird keine Beschäftigungsbewilligung erteilt, was somit die Arbeitskräfteüberlassung ausschließt.

 

 


Interessiert an arbeitsrechtlichen Neuerungen? Werfen Sie einen Blick auf unseren Artikel zum Zugriff des Dienstgebers auf die E-Mails der Dienstnehmer.